Button CopyPathCircle CloseCircle Left ArrowArrow Down Icon GreyClosecirclecircleBurger
Greater Madawaska, Ontario Real Estate and Homes for Sale

Greater Madawaska

Greater Madawaska is an incorporated township in Renfrew County in eastern Ontario, Canada, created on January 1, 2001, through the amalgamation of the Township of Bagot and Blythfield; the Township of Brougham; and the Township of Griffith and Matawatchan. As of 2011, it has a population of 2,485.The township comprises the communities of Ashdad, Barrett Chute, Barryvale, Black Donald, Calabogie, Camel Chute, Griffith, Hurds Lake, Lower Dacre, Matawatchan, Springtown, Spruce Hedge and Wilson.The ghost towns of Khartum and Balvenie are also located in the township.Two fire towers were located in the township in the middle of the 20th century. These were located at Jameison's Mountain north of Griffith (the cupola now sits on the property of the Pembroke MNR office) and at Matawatchan. These were put out of use in 1970 as aerial forest fire fighting techniques took over.The township is composed of the geographic townships of Bagot, Blythfield (also spelled Blithfield), Brougham, Griffith and Matawatchan. The town borders in downstream order Centennial Lake, Black Donald Lake, Norcan Lake and Calabogie Lake, all four on the Madawaska River, and is located in the northern section of the Ottawa River Valley.

Map Image
Streetview Image

Get directions to this location from: